top of page

Nominate a Book for the ADHS Rorabaugh Prize!

Updated: Aug 13

The Alcohol and Drugs History Society (ADHS) is pleased to issue a call for nominations for the inaugural competition for the Rorabaugh Book Prize. The Rorabaugh Book Prize commemorates the life of the late William (“Bill”) Rorabaugh (1945–2020), a pioneer in the social history of alcohol, University of Washington professor, and a former president and tireless supporter of the Alcohol and Drugs History Society.

The Rorabaugh Prize will be awarded on a biennial basis by the ADHS to the author(s) of a first or second monograph in the English language in the history of alcohol and drug studies (scholars who have published previously in other fields are welcome to apply).

The Rorabaugh Book Prize 2020 and 2021 Call for Submissions

In this inaugural year for the Rorabaugh Book Prize competition, two prizes will be awarded.

William J. Rorabaugh

William “Bill” Rorabaugh

Books with copyright dates of 2020 or 2021 are eligible. The prizes will be awarded at the ADHS conference in Mexico City in June 2022.

Anyone may nominate a book, including its author. Nominations for the prize must be submitted electronically using the Rorabaugh Book Prize Nomination Form. Nominators are responsible for confirming the publication date and for forwarding one print copy of the book to each member of the Award Committee at their own expense. Book submissions must be postmarked by December 31, 2021. ADHS membership is not required to be eligible for the award.

Members of the 2021 committee:

  1. Isaac Campos (chair), University of Cincinnati

  2. Miriam Kingsberg Kadia, University of Colorado Boulder

  3. Scott Martin, Bowling Green State University

Please direct questions to

#ADHS #Books #callfornominations #drugandalcoholhistory

1 view
bottom of page